I did it all for the milk… the milk… I did it all for the milk.

We’ve been out of milk for 2 days.

Enough, I told myself this morning. You’re going to HAVE to go to the grocery store for milk some time today.

Easier said than done. Here’s a brief overview of my typical day:

  • 5:25 a.m. – up for the day with Peach. Sadly, this has become routine for us with the damn time change.
  • 6:30 a.m. – 7:30 a.m. – fix and feed breakfast, fix and pack lunches, sign papers and hear a briefing of the days events before sending the two oldest to brush their teeth and get things loaded and outside for the bus.
  • 7:30 a.m. – 8:30 a.m. – nurse Peach, get dressed, dress Peach, dress Woodchuck, eat a quick bite of breakfast, pack food for Peach for the morning, get loaded in the car, get Woodchuck to daycare and Peach and I to work.
  • 8:30 a.m. – noon – Wrestle Peach at work including: feeding her, nursing her, changing her, napping her and (my favorite) playing with her.
  • Noon – 1:00pm – pick Woodchuck up from daycare and go home. Eat and feed Peach then nurse her and get her laid down for nap. Return to work.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 – Huh, work. Who knew.
  • 5:00 p.m. – Rush home so husband can get to work.

I have ZERO time to make a quick run to the store for milk! Seriously!

So, I did something stupid. And amazing. And STUPIDLY AMAZING.

I took all four children to the store today right after work.

I now know why some animals eat their young. Seriously.

Woodchuck was all for going to the store. Until he realized that I wasn’t going to let him ride his bike to the store. (We live 3-4 miles away and NEVER have ridden our bikes to the store… not sure where this came from other than he dearly loves to ride his bike in the road with Daddy beside him.) I had to physically wrestle him into his carseat.

Then, we were able to calm him down on the way to the store by the promise of getting to ride in one of the car carts. However, one aisle into the store and he’s already climbing out of it, hanging his head, arms and lets out of every available space and in general trying his hardest to be the biggest p.i.t.a. he can be.

This is how the entire rest of the trip went: Woodchuck, sit down. Woodchuck, don’t touch that. Woodchuck, hold my hand. Woodchuck, put your head back inside the car so we don’t bonk it. Woodchuck, don’t climb on top of the car. Woodchuck, no running. Woodchuck, put that down. Woodchuck, hold my hand or get in the cart. In between these is a grumpy Peach who just wants her 5 o’clock nursing time with Momma, grumpy G and Fred who just want to be at home instead and 15 people I know who are randomly coming up to me and asking me how we’re doing.

How does it look like I’m doing? Really?!? Leave me alone so I can get the hell through the store and get home. My sanity is counting on it.

I did it all for the milk…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I did it all for the milk… the milk… I did it all for the milk.

  1. The purpose of this blog post is to make other people feel better about their crazy lives. Well done. Mission accomplished!

  2. Sliced Science says:

    I don’t think I would have gone through that without pulling all my hair out. Well done for staying sane!

Honest Thoughts...

